Clos Apalta image

La précellence d’un terroir

Moment magique : lorsque les nuages coulent de la montagne. Le soleil se découvre lentement. Un halo se dirige sur la cave.Jacques Begarie, Directeur technique of Clos Apalta.

Climat

Clos Apalta possède un micro-climat significativement distinct du climat général du Chili. On pourrait le qualifier de semi-méditerranéen, avec des pluies hivernales et un long été sec ; conditions météorologiques qui permettent aux raisins d'atteindre une maturité idéale L’importante amplitude thermique favorise l’accumulation des anthocyanes et la couleur profonde des vins.

Exposition

 Situé à l’entrée de la vallée d’Apalta, le vignoble, avec ses 60 hectares posés en amphithéâtre, bénéficie d’une exposition majoritairement sud-est, tout à fait rare au Chile, qui limite l’ensoleillement et protège des chaleurs extrêmes les vieilles vignes, plantées sur les sols pauvres granitiques. La rivière Tinguiririca et les collines de la précordillère des Andes, cerclant le vignoble, assurent un équilibre à nos vignes : au couchant, les piémonts protègent, au moment les plus chauds de la journée, les raisins des rayons du soleil et leur évitent échaudage et déshydratation.

Un vignoble centenaire

Age du vignoble

Les parcelles les plus anciennes ont été plantées entre 1915 et 1920 ; les ceps ont été importés de France à la fin du 19ème siècle. Un vignoble centenaire unique au monde avec 40 hectares de pieds francs, avec des vignes d’une moyenne d’âge de 80 ans. La carménère et le cabernet, par leurs phénols de grande qualité, donnent des raisins superbes.

Un terroir unique où les vignes de plus de 100 ans s’intègrent harmonieusement dans la nature environnante.
Charles-Henri de Bournet, Président-directeur général des Vignobles Lapostole

Configuration du vignoble

Dès le départ, nous avons visé l’excellence. Dans le développement du projet, ont été plantés, à côté des vieilles vignes, d’autres ceps selon la meilleure définition. Une première au Chili : des plantations en piémonts, en haute densité (6.600 plantes par hectare), avec des rendements contraints, soit une production de 45hl/ha équivalente à celle du Bordelais. Aujourd’hui, la carménère donne la réplique aux merlot, cabernet-sauvignon et petit verdot.

Les plantations de vignes forment des tableaux étonnants presque abstraits d’accumulation de lignes ondulantes.
Jacques Begarie, directeur technique de Clos Apalta

Complexité aromatique inhérente à la mosaïque de terroirs

Comment faire mentir une telle base ? Le vignoble de Clos Apalta bénéficie d’un microclimat inespéré, d’une exposition sans pareille, d’un drainage parfait et d’une mosaïque de terroirs comme on oserait en rêver  Michel Rolland,œnologue-consultant

Typicité du sol

La qualité du terroir d’Apalta est liée surtout aux argiles, à une qualité structurale du sol, à la présence d’une roche mère altérée et fragmentée, à la pauvreté naturelle des sols granitiques à quartz. La variation des sols est importante : du sol granitique organique brun profond à des sols granitiques argileux peu profonds sur roche mère, jusqu’aux sols granitiques quartzeux.

Alimentation en eau

Grâce à de la présence d’argiles d’altération, Apalta bénéficie d’un réservoir hydrique naturellement important, lequel permet aux vignes de subsister sans intervention humaine.

Dénivelé

 Afin d’obtenir le plus de nuances et d’expressions possibles, certains cépages sont plantés sur des piémonts, d’autres sur des coteaux en plat, entre 150 et 300 mètres. Ces différences d’altitude jouent ensemble et offrent de belles singularités lors des assemblages.

Vignes alignées sur la rocaille, entourée de garrigues, avec de çi de là des arbres, essences méditerranéennes conservées jusqu’au beau milieu des rangs, le paysage rappelle les Corbières, blanches et arides.
Jacques Begarie, directeur technique de Clos Apalta.

Mosaïque de terroirs

Terroir d’exception mais aussi terroir composite, avec une kyrielle de parcelles, présentant un échantillonnage presque complet de ce que la géologie locale peut offrir. La multitude des terroirs permet des interprétations contrastées grâce à l’importante variation des sols et confère aux vins une complexité aromatique.

Old vines
Azulillo

THE ABUSE OF ALCOHOL IS DANGEROUS FOR YOUR HEALTH. DRINK WITH STYLE, DRINK RESPONSIBLY

To visit the Clos Apalta site, you must be of legal drinking age in your country of residence. If there is no legal age for consuming alcohol in your country, you must be over 21.

Yes
No

Clos Apalta image

The pre-eminence of the terroir – combining natural rarities

It’s a magical moment; when the clouds flow down from the mountain. The sun slowly rises. A halo settles over the cellar.Jacques Begarie, Technical Director of Clos Apalta

Climate

Clos Apalta has a micro-climate which is significantly distinct from the general climate of Chile. It could be called semi-Mediterranean, with winter rains and a long, dry summer; weather conditions that allow the grapes to reach optimum maturity. The extreme thermal oscillation favors the accumulation of anthocyanins which creates the deep, rich color of the wines.

Exposure

 The vineyard is located at the entrance of the Apalta Valley, with its 60 hectares laid amphitheatrically. It enjoys a mostly southeast exposure, quite rare in Colchagua, which limits the sunshine and protects the old vines planted in poor granite soils from extreme heat. The Tinguiririca River and the hills of the Andean precordillera, enclosing the vineyard, ensure that our vines receive a balanced exposure to the elements: at sunset, the foothills protect the grapes from the rays of the sun and prevent scalding and dehydration at the hottest time of the day. 

A century-old vineyard

Vineyard age

The oldest plots were planted between 1915 and 1920; the stocks were imported from France at the end of the 19th century. A unique, century-old vineyard with 40 hectares of pied franc, with vines averaging 80-years-old. The carménère and cabernet, with their high-quality phenols, give superb and succulent grapes. 

A unique terroir where the 100-year-old vines blend harmoniously into the surrounding nature.
Charles-Henri de Bournet, President and CEO of Lapostolle Vineyards

Vineyard configuration

From the beginning of this journey, we have striven for perfection. During project development, other stocks were planted beside the old vines, according to the best layout which was discovered first in Chile. This includes foothill plantations with a high density of 6600 plants per hectare and constrained yields with a production of 45hl/ha, equivalent to that of Bordeaux. Today, the carménère is the make-up of wines such as Merlot, Cabernet sauvignon and Petit Verdot. 

The vineyard plantations form astonishing, almost abstract, landscapes of undulating lines.
Jacques Begarie, Technical Director of Clos Apalta

Aromatic Complexity

One feels that such a variety of soil is too good to be true. The Clos Apalta vineyard benefits from an unprecedented microclimate, with unparalleled exposure, perfect drainage and a mosaic of terroirs: more than we could ever have hoped for.Michel Rolland, Consultant at Lapostolle Vineyards

Soil type

The quality of the Apalta terroir is largely linked to the clay and structural quality of the soil, which is enhanced by the presence of both a weathered and fragmented bedrock and the natural properties of the quartz granite soils. Soil variation within the valley is important: from deep, organic, brown granitic soil to shallow, clay granitic soils on bedrock, to quartz granitic soils. 

Water supply

Because of the presence of weathering clays, Apalta benefits from a naturally created water reservoir that allows the vines to survive without human intervention.

Height difference

In order to obtain as large a variety of wine as possible, some varietals are planted on the foothills, whilst others are on flat slopes, between 150 and 300 meters. These differences in altitude work together to offer beautiful, unique wines when assembled. 

A mosaic of terroirs

Clos Apalta is an exceptionally composite terroir, with a myriad of plots, presenting an almost complete sample of the local rock make-up. The multitude of terroirs allows for contrasting flavors, thanks to the wide variety of soils, and gives the wines an aromatic complexity.

Old Vines
Azulillo

THE ABUSE OF ALCOHOL IS DANGEROUS FOR YOUR HEALTH. DRINK WITH STYLE, DRINK RESPONSIBLY

To visit the Clos Apalta site, you must be of legal drinking age in your country of residence. If there is no legal age for consuming alcohol in your country, you must be over 21.

Yes
No